Gougères.

In Australia, summer inevitably means cricket and cricket means I must share Boy Robin with what seem like endless games (both watching on tv and playing himself).

I can’t say I enjoy cricket.  I understand the rules enough to follow the game, but it seems that I watch for aaages while nothing happens, only to turn around to talk to someone at the very instant something interesting happens. And then, get in trouble for talking at a crucial moment.

However, one thing I can get behind is the food breaks.  I like that afternoon tea is considered important enough to have its own scheduled break (not to mention I just like afternoon tea).

I don’t watch Boy Robin play cricket (I did it once and once was enough for me).  However, if he is playing a home game, I drop in with some afternoon tea.  Gougères are my go to – quick, easy and super tasty.

Gougères

Gougères

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup beer
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 113g butter, thickly sliced
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup self raising flour
  • 1/2 cup wholemeal flour
  • 4 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 tbsp seasoning (I usually add garlic chives), plus salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, coarsely grated

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 220C with a rack in the top third.  Line 2 trays with baking paper.
  2. Bring the beer, milk, butter and salt to boil in a large, thick-bottomed saucepan over a medium-high heat.
  3. Reduce the heat, add both the flours and stir like crazy. The dough will eventually come together smoothly and give a nice, toasty scent.
  4. Remove from the heat and stir in your seasoning. At this stage, I usually add some freshly ground salt and pepper as well, but it’s not essential. Even if you decide not to add any seasoning, still stir occasionally for 5 minutes or so to let the heat out (I find it takes much longer on warm days). You don’t want the dough to cook the eggs when you add them.
  5. Once the dough has cooled, work the eggs into the dough one at a time. Add 1 cup of the cheese and stir through.
  6. Scoop 1 tablespoon sized amounts onto the baking trays, leaving a few centimetres between each. I usually manage to fit 12 or so onto each tray. Sprinkle the remaining 1/2 cup of cheese on top of the gougères.
  7. Put 1 tray into the oven for 5 minutes, then reduce the oven temperature to 190C and bake for a further 20 to 25 minutes. The gougères should be a deep, golden brown colour all over, puffed up and well set (no soggy bottoms). Transfer the gougères onto a rack to cool.
  8. Bring the oven temperature back up to 220C before baking the second tray the same as the first. I find that now the oven has warmed up a bit, the second tray bakes a tad quicker, so keep an eye on it.

¡Buen provecho!

Leave a Reply

